class="post-template-default single single-post postid-2065 single-format-standard wp-custom-logo rightsidebar elementor-default elementor-kit-6" itemscope itemtype="">

First-time Councillor Picked As Rajkot Mayor | – Times of India

Rajkot: The ruling BJP in the Rajkot Municipal Corporation (RMC) on Tuesday selected first-time corporators Nayna Pedhadiya and Narendrasinh Jadeja as city mayor and deputy mayor respectively.
Jaymin Thakar was appointed the RMC standing committee chairman while Liluben Jadav was appointed leader of the ruling party. Manish Radiya was made the party whip in RMC.
Pedhadiya, who was elected from ward 4 of the city was the first from the East Zone to bag the mayor’s post. According to sources, Pedhadiya’s entire family is committed to Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS). Her husband has held various positions in the RSS in the past. Pedhadiya was earlier city president of BJP’s women’s cell.
Deputy mayor Jadeja is also a first-time corporator from ward 3 which falls in the Central Zone of RMC. According to sources, for the last three terms, the Congress panel ruled ward 3. Jadeja has been rewarded for capturing a Congress stronghold ward. It is believed that Jadeja played a key role in BJP’s victory in all four seats of ward 3. Jadeja’s father was Sarpanch of Madhapar village when it was not merged with the RMC.
The new RMC standing committee chairman Jaymin Thakar has been active in the party for the last three decades and has been elected for the second time from ward 2. During his previous term, he was a member of the RMC’s health and social welfare committees.
Radiya, who was appointed as party whip in the RMC, is also a corporator from ward 2. He has been an active member of BJP for four decades. The two-term corporator was part of RMC’s health and building committee in his last term.
The new leader of the ruling BJP in RMC, Liluben Jadav is a first-time corporator from ward 11.
According to sources, the appointments of new office bearers were made keeping the 2024 general election in mind.
The BJP has tried to balance the cast equations with the mayor from Leuva Patidar community and the deputy mayor from Rajput community. The standing committee chairman is a Brahmin while the party whip belongs to Raghuvanshi community. The leader of the ruling party belongs to the OBC community.
The BJP has included more women members in the standing committee. Out of the 12 members, six are women.

Source link

About The Author

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *