class="post-template-default single single-post postid-4477 single-format-standard wp-custom-logo rightsidebar elementor-default elementor-kit-6" itemscope itemtype="">

AFSPA to remain in force in 4 Assam districts – Times of India

2 minutes, 22 seconds Read

GUWAHATI: The controversial Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act (AFSPA), which was enforced in eight districts of Assam, has been lifted from four districts and extended in the other four — Dibrugarh, Tinsukia, Sivasagar and Charaideo — for another six more months from October 1.
The four districts from where the act has been lifted are — Jorhat, Golaghat, Karbi Anglong and Dima Hasao. Assam has 35 districts.

Manipur on the Edge again: Imphal shuts down, AFSPA for hill regions extended for six more months

The Assam cabinet had recently recommended the complete withdrawal of AFSPA from the state but as the four districts are still witnessing militant activities of the outlawed Ulfa over the decades, they will continue to have the “disturbed areas” status, resulting in the enforcement of AFSPA.
“As per the new notification that came in force from today, AFSPA will be in force only in four districts of Assam — Charaideo, Sivasagar, Dibrugarh and Tinsukia. From the rest of Assam, the Disturbed Area Act and AFSPA have been withdrawn,” Assam DGP GP Singh said on Sunday.
While the “disturbed areas” notification was in force since 1990 in the whole of Assam, it was removed with effect from April 1 last year, except in nine districts and one sub-subdivision of another district. Later, from April 1 this year, it was further reduced to eight districts and was in effect till Saturday (September 30) for a period of six months.

Source link

About The Author

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *